Golf in the land of poutine and Molson

I let a little golf tournament slip through my radar and now I feel like an idiot.

All summer, every summer, it’s about golf, golf, golf –– for work and for fun. Until college and newspapers took over my life, if there was a big tournament going on (read: President’s Cup, this weekend) you’d better believe it would be on the TV in front of me.

But to get back to my idiocy: this weekend’s edition of the President’s Cup, the seventh incarnation of this biannual international golf competition, is less than two hours from Burlington … and I’m not there.

Like I said, I feel like an idiot.

There is no acceptable excuse for my absence from this year’s President’s Cup at Royal Montreal. I should have planned ahead.

Now, instead of watching the final round of what proved to be an American rout, stuffing myself full of poutine and enjoying Molson Dry, I’m left to cleaning my apartment, dreaming of what might have been.

It would have been something else to go cover the President’s Cup. Not only do I feel like an idiot, but I’m kind of mad at myself too.

The only shred of consolation I have to save right now is the simple fact that at least I’m not missing the Ryder Cup in my backyard.

And this, it seems, is the larger issue: the President’s Cup will never be as big as the Ryder Cup.

The matches take place in alternating years, the only exception being the fall of 2001. The former has been around for less than 17 years, the latter for more than 70.

Beyond the history, though, what has happened lately?

Whew! The Americans co-me into the Ryder Cup every year as, on paper, the favorite to win.

Lately? The underdog Europeans manage to beat up on the Americans so bad that it’s essentially over before dawn on Sunday.

Even in 1999, the last American Ryder Cup victory, the Americans had to overcome a sizable deficit on the last day to win. That dramatic victory at Brookline is the only American success in the last six matches.

On the flip side, since the President’s Cup matches began in 1994 the U.S. has lost once to the International team –– a team that includes PGA stars who aren’t eligible for the European Ryder Cup squad.

The Ryder Cup is all about heart and pride. The President’s Cup, not devoid of neither heart nor pride, is too mathematic –– the teams consist of the top 10 Americans and the top 10 Internationals in the World Golf Rankings.

So why don’t the Americans perform against the Europeans like they do against the Internationals?

Maybe it’s just never their year.

Leave a Reply

