Caddying and lunacy

Oh, how I wish I was Jason Sobel last week.

I mean, yeah, I’d love to be a senior golf editor for ESPN.com, but he got to do that job, and try his hand at a professional looping (read: caddying) gig.

Talk about having your cake and eating it too –– I would like either of those jobs and he gets to do both at the same time!

Really though, the joke’s on Sobel. He and his loop, the Nationwide Tour’s top money-winner this season, Roland Thatcher, failed to make the cut at the Chattanooga Classic.

OK, so maybe I’m the only one laughing.

I laugh because I’ve been there before, not on a professional circuit with a professional loop, but I’ve been on the bag for several teams that don’t make it to the money rounds.

It stinks, a point that was not lost on Sobel.

What a field day we’d have at the caddyshack. Guy carrying one bag (we carry two at a time) for a PGA Tour-bound pro can’t make it to the weekend at a Nationwide Tour event?

The likely verdict, as far as the shack is concerned: poor caddying.

Trust me, we don’t want to get replaced by golf carts, or GPS yardage systems, but that’s a different story for a different day.

The real story right now is about the Yankees and how they’ve treated their now-former manager, Joe Torre. Torre may have been the only person wearing a Yankee uniform since I’ve been alive that I genuinely respected and didn’t poke fun at.

He’s a guy even Red Sox fans can’t help but respect.

So how do the Yankees treat a manager who won them four World Series in five years, six pennants and 10 out of 12 division titles (including five in a row)?

Naturally, the Yankees offer him a one-year deal for less money. That is a slap in Joe Torre’s face. Way to go, Yankees.

After the Yankees lost to Cleveland in the ALDS, the buzz around Torre’s standing with the Yankees resumed louder than before.

One of the first things I picked out from the chatter was ESPN’s talking heads questioning Yankees owner George Steinbrenner’s mental capacity. I mean, Steinbrenner’s barely 77. I did a double take then, thinking it was mean-spirited and bordering on rude, but now I’m having second thoughts. Maybe the entire Yankees front office has lost it.

Baseball is a business and Steinbrenner leads one of the most cutthroat teams in the game. There are expectations, I get that. But to push a guy away –– one who’s won you four World Series rings and six pennants –– for not winning you a World Series in seven years or a pennant in four?

That is lunacy.

Leave a Reply

